Home | News | Street | Drifting | Red Bull Drift Shifters 2018

Red Bull Drift Shifters 2018

The world’s top drift racers descended upon the city of Liverpool to witness one of the biggest and loudest motorsport events to ever hit the UK. Here is all you need to know:

–  Red Bull Drift Shifters was originally dreamt up by New Zealand professional drifter ‘Mad’ Mike Whiddett, debuting in his home town of Auckland back in 2012.

–  The adrenaline-fuelled event challenged drivers to test their nerve and manoeuvre their way around the features; scoring points for speed, line, angle and proximity of their cars to the obstacles.

–  The competition in Liverpool saw twelve global drift legends come to town. Gaz Whiter from New Zealand, driving a Nissan Silvia V8, beat the competition to be crowned champion ahead of Forrest Wang and Fredric Aasbø.

–  The state-of-the-art technology system rewarded drivers as they drove in their own style, using sensors which instantly converted the quality of each drifting performance into a point score, removing the need for judges and or any perceived human bias over the final results.

–  The course took in many iconic places around Liverpool, including the Royal Liver building. The award ceremony took place on Liverpool’s famous dockside.

–  Whiter, who saw his last lap be awarded the highest score of the day, said: “It’s been amazing! The electricity from the fans here in Liverpool was incredible and it’s been a blast to put on a show in the UK. I had my route mapped out in my head, it was a bit risky, but thankfully it paid off.”

–  Mad Mike, who placed 9th, said: “It was absolutely unreal, I’m ecstatic! It was overwhelming to see how many people came out and to see the actual event unfold so perfectly. For me the success of the event is far, far better than me standing on top of the podium”.

–  The event was organised in partnership with Liverpool City Council and forms part of Liverpool 2018 – a year of projects marking a decade since Liverpool’s transformational year as European Capital of Culture.


1. Gaz Whiter
2. Forrest Wang
3. Fredric Aasbø
4. Piotr Więcek
5. James Deane
6. Abdo Feghali
7. Masato Kawabata
8. Dean Kearney
9. Mad Mike Whiddett
10. Joachim Waagaard
11. Fanga Dan Woolhouse
12. Matt Carter

Leave a Reply

What Drives You?

Be FIRST to recieve the new issue every month & other exclusive content!

You're almost there - please click to confirm your subscription in the email we send you shortly